D2L Brightspace course purge schedule
About purging Brightspace courses
In the interest of saving server space and helping Brightspace run quicker, the System Office periodically purges the oldest courses from Brightspace. Below is a list of purge dates and which semester courses are being purged on those dates.
- The purge process begins with stripping all enrollees from the Classlist. The course itself remains for a period of time and it still accessible to the administrators but the teachers cannot see them as they are no longer enrolled.
- An all-employee email is sent ahead of time to allow faculty to export their course content before the purge occurs. Export your content BEFORE the date above if you wish to retain a copy of the course. There are instructions for exporting courses at Exporting a Brightspace course.
- Content remains for a period of time until the course is actually deleted sometime in the future. (That schedule is unknown.)
- Courses that are not semester based, like Sandboxes, are only purged if we ask Minnesota State to purge them. This kind of purge is permanent and there is no going back for anyone.