Merge Brightspace courses

From WSU Technology Knowledge Base
Jump to navigation Jump to search

About This Article

This article describes how to request a Brightspace class merge and what to expect once a request has been submitted. It is intended for instructors using Brightspace or those interested in using Brightspace in the future.

Overview

A separate Brightspace course shell is created for every section of every course each academic term. Two or more Brightspace course shells can be merged to create a new shell with a combined classlist. This can be handy if:

  • You teach two or more sections of the same course with identical syllabi and supporting course materials.
  • You teach undergraduate and graduate versions of a course that share a substantial proportion of content.
  • You want to collaborate with a colleague who is teaching another section of the same course.

Note: Courses can only be merged if they are offered in the same term. For example, it is not possible to merge a spring course with a fall course, even if they are the same course and share the same materials.

Merging Course Sections

My Courses
Fig 1. Click '''My Courses''' to access your course list
Select merge
Fig 2. Select the sections to merge
Confirm merge details
Fig 3. Confirm the merge details

1. Open the Course Self Service application. This can be accomplished in one of two ways:

  • Click on Course Self Service in the Brightspace navigation menu at the top right of the Brightspace page, OR
  • Go directly to the Course Self Service application. Note: If this is your first time using the application, you may be prompted to verify access to Sharepoint. If you asked, allow access.

2. Click on the '''My Courses''' button to get a list of the courses assigned to you. (See figure 1.)

3. Once the list of courses is displayed, click the checkboxes after each of the sections you wish to merge. (See figure 2, number 1.)

4. Click '''Combine'''. (See figure 2, number 2.)

5 .Confirm the merge details. (See figure 3.)

  • The first course in the course list is considered the "base" course. All content in the base course will be copied into the new merged section.
  • You need a course other than the first course to be the base for the merge? Click the pin icon for the section you want to act as the base. Content will then be copied from the new base course.

6. Type the word merge into the confirmation file and then click the Merge button.

7. The merge request is then submitted. You will receive an email when the merge has been processed.

Important Details

  • The original, unmerged sections will no longer be available in the teacher's or the students' courses lists. Only the merged course will be visible.
  • The new merged course will appear on the instructor's course list with a title and course ID that ends with an "M," indicating that this is a merged course. Unmerged courses have course IDs that end in "S" denoting them as single sections.
  • The separate class lists from the original courses are merged into one for the new course. Instructors can, if they wish, separate the class-list as Sections or Groups in the new course.


Remove a section from an existing merge

Select merged section
Fig 4. Select the merged section to modify
Open merge request
Fig 5. Open the merge request
Open parent course
Fig 6. Open the parent course
Remove section
Fig 7. Remove the section

1. Open the Course Self Service application. This can be accomplished in one of two ways:

  • Click on Course Self Service in the Brightspace navigation menu at the top right of the Brightspace page, OR
  • Go directly to the Course Self Service application. Note: If this is your first time using the application, you may be prompted to verify access to Sharepoint. If you asked, allow access.

2. Click on the '''My Courses''' button to get a list of the courses assigned to you. (See figure 1.)

3. Locate the merged section from which you wish to remove a section and click the chevron to the right of the course description. (See figure 4.)

4. Click the See merge request icon to the right of the merge completion date. (See figure 5.)

5. Click on the Parent Course icon. (See figure 6.)

6. Select the checkbox next to the section to remove. (See figure 7, number 1.)

7. Type remove in the confirmation box. (See figure 7, number 2.)

8. Click the Remove 1 section from course button.

9. The remove request will be submitted. You will receive an email as soon as the removal is complete.

Add a section to an existing merge

Add section to merge
Fig 8. Add a section to an existing merge
Merge new section
Fig 9. Merge in the new section

1. Open the Course Self Service application. This can be accomplished in one of two ways:

  • Click on Course Self Service in the Brightspace navigation menu at the top right of the Brightspace page, OR
  • Go directly to the Course Self Service application. Note: If this is your first time using the application, you may be prompted to verify access to Sharepoint. If you asked, allow access.

2. Click on the '''My Courses''' button to get a list of the courses assigned to you. (See figure 1.)

3. Find the unmerged section you wish to add to a merged course and click the checkbox to the right of the course description. (See figure 8, number 1.)

4. Click the Add to Existing button. (see figure 8, number 2.)

5. Select the checkbox that corresponds to the merged section you want to update. (See figure 9, number 1.)

6. Type merge into the confirmation field. (See figure 9, number 2.)

7. Click the Merge button. (See figure 9, number 3.)

8. Your merge request will be submitted. You will receive an email when th merge is completed.


More Information

Related Wiki Topics

For a complete listing of topics, select from the category list below.